History of water and electricity

The history of water and electricity production and distribution. 

Before 1893 Inhabitants water needs were satisfied by using rainwater from cisterns or groundwater from pits. Leonard Smith constructed a small water distribution net in Willemstad that was later sold to Maduro & Sons. For illumination inhabitants used kerosene lamps.
1893   American Consul, Leonard B. Smith, was granted the right to generate and distribute power on Curacao at Plantersrust.
1897   First light burnt in Curacao. 
1907   Leonard B. Smith sold power company to Maduro & Sons. 
1927   Maduro & Sons sold the power company to the Nederlands Indisch Gas Maatschappij  (N.I.G.M.). 
1928   The Landswatervoorzieningsdienst (L.W.V.) is founded and desalination of seawater began with the construction of the Riffort Plant. 
1929             Construction of the Penstraat water plant ( LWV) 
1948             Construction of the Mundu Nobo Waterplant (LWV)  
1950   N.I.G.M. is renamed as Overzeese Gas en Elektriciteit Maatschappij(O.G.E.M.).
1957   The First “dual purpose plant” (combined production of water and electricity) became a reality at the Plant of Mundu Nobo.
1975-1976  Formation of the Kompania di Awa I Elektrisidat  (K.A.E.) and Kompania di Produkshon i Distribushon di Awa i Elektrisidat (KODELA). 
1977   Power production and distribution moved from O.G.E.M. to Island Territory (K.A.E.  and KODELA ). 
1988             DWD (Dienst Water Distributie (Island Territory Curacao) was integrated into KODELA 
1998   Management of K.A.E. and KODELA was integrated into the Integrated Utility Holding (I.U.H.).  
2001   I.U.H., K.A.E. and KODELA were rebranded under a unifying banner: Aqualectra, Aqualectra Production and Aqualectra Distribution. A third operating company was created in February 2001, Aqualectra Multi Utility. The Management Board of Aqualectra was given  responsibility for management of the operating companies.